Mommy Monday- Daughter’s Inspiration

Happy Monday!

Our 13 year old daughter is wise beyond her years. She is an old soul.

20130819-125222.jpg

Type A personality is the easiest way to sum up a good part of her personality. But there is another side. A deeper side. Even as a younger child, if she did something wrong she quickly was able to explain what she did wrong and why it was wrong. Most children need to have these things explained to them.

I remember her coming home full of energy when she was in kindergarten. I didn’t have a chance to ask her to calm down. She came up to me and said “mommy, I need to go outside and play. I have to sit and be so quiet all day at school. I have so much energy I need to get rid of.

When she was 22 months old and I was a few days away from giving birth she followed me to the bathroom . She said ” mommy, I go pee pee like big girl”. I had never tried potty training. Never mentioned it. I would take her with me and talk to her about her using the toilet one day but didn’t think it would be that easy! She never had an accident and never used a diaper or pull-up again. Not even at night.

She was awarded “The Golden Rule” award in kinder.

In first grade she decided to cut her hair and give it to Locks of Love. She was interviewed by the district superintendent for their news program.

Every year she earns straight A’s and receives “Most Courteous” or The DARE essay award, etc.

I realize ALL of our kids do things to be proud of. That is very true. I’m proud of all of our kids.

I’m writing this post to express my excitement over her new found belief in what she refers to as “my hippy clan”. I call if following “The Map” or controlling my own destiny.

This is her text she sent to me Friday on her way to Houston for the weekend:

I was thinking about it, and if I really want to graduate soon, and “start my life”, I need to put everything in school so I’m guaranteed. I know I’ll be self conscious, anxious, stressed,etc. because that’s just the way I am, but I’m going to work on not really putting it out there. I’m going to do a lot of reading this weekend, so if you’ll have me, I would like to be apart of your hippie clan. (The period made this sound really official and important, but really I just like correct grammar.)

She is referring to reading The Map by Boni Lonnsburry. She is working on getting in the accelerated program at school. Not only AP classes. This program allows for early graduation. She is currently in 8th grade.

I don’t know about you but when I was in 8th grade I was concerned with who liked me, who I liked, if I had enough money to buy the new Madonna album, if i had to babysit my brother or family issues. I didn’t have the thought process she has.

I’ve, of course, been talking about The Map for months. She thought I was crazy at first. I showed her books from my 20’s that revolved around this thinking. I asked her to look at them. She didn’t have to believe in this thought process but she knew she did have to learn about it. We are opened minded. We learn about both sides of every issue then make our decision.

It took her a few days to send the text. I never asked or said a word about the books after giving them to her.

She happened to go see the movie “Jobs” this weekend. That sealed the deal. She saw a lot of herself in him. His desire for perfection. Nothing ever being good enough. Yet very hippy like, no shoes, spiritual. He followed “the system” she explains. She said its
like we are part of the universe- very much like The Map.

She came home so excited about life.

There are no coincidences. God puts things in our lives as we are ready to receive them. Knowing she knows she controls her destiny is priceless. This is a core belief she will keep throughout life. Imagine if you were raised to think you controlled your own destiny. Your life has no limits other than what you limited yourself to. Maybe you were. I certainly wasn’t. I cannot wait to see where she will go. I cannot wait for the others to join our “hippy clan”!

As a mom, our children’s happiness is all that matters. Watching them mature is amazing. All 4 of our kids are so individual. All are unique. We are so blessed.

20130819-134226.jpg

Leave a Reply

