Thoughtful Thursday July 4, 2013

20130705-200918.jpg

Happy 4th of July!!!!

I would like to start my post today with a quote. John Adams wrote to his wife, Abigail, July 3, 1776 the following:

“The second day of July, 1776, will be the most memorable epoch in the history of America. I am apt to believe that it will be celebrated by succeeding generations as the great anniversary festival. It ought to be commemorated as the day of deliverance, by solemn acts of devotion to God Almighty. It ought to be solemnized with pomp and parade, with shows, games, sports, guns, bells, bonfires, and illuminations, from one end of this continent to the other, from this time forward forever more.”

I love these words. Our forefathers amaze me. I won’t pretend to be a historian. I want to be so badly. The “Star Spangled Banner” makes me cry. While watching events at home I stand, hand over heart, to honor our country when our Pledge of Allegiance is recited and our anthem is sung,
tears always streaming. My brain cannot fathom what our ancestors sacrificed for our freedom. In school I remember feeling overwhelmed while learning American History. The struggles. The blood. Brother against brother. Father against son. I don’t remember all that was taught – dates, battles, names, etc. It’s all so much! Still today as I read historical information I get overwhelmed. Handsome hubby, on the other hand, is a wealth of American historical knowledge. He’s always there to share a fact, some tidbit of knowledge. For example….did you know that John Adams and Thomas Jefferson died on the same day? July 4, 1826—- 50 years after the Declaration was signed ( although, he informs me the date is debatable). But I wonder away from my original thoughts, as usual.

However it is important to ponder the thought that went into the formation of the greatest country on earth. The greatest country of our time, of any time.

We had 13 colonies. We wanted to be our own country. All I have to say is thank goodness for the men that were leading our country then! They had a thought process like nothing you see today. Thomas Jefferson wrote “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.” This second sentence of the Declaration of Independence has been quoted many times. Abraham Lincoln used it often. The words “Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness” keep people risking their life to come live in our country still today.

Yet again I still have not come to my thoughts. So I’ll jump right in now. Our forefathers were seemingly led by God first. “In God We Trust” was put on our currency for a reason. Thomas Jefferson wrote “Believe me, dear Sir: there is not in the British empire a man who more cordially loves a union with Great Britain than I do. But, by the God that made me, I will cease to exist before I yield to a connection on such terms as the British Parliament propose; and in this, I think I speak the sentiments of America.”
—Thomas Jefferson, November 29, 1775

God was evident in every aspect of our nations development.

20130705-213453.jpg

Given the most recent books I’ve read and am reading, I wonder how much of a role higher powers had in our countries formation. Were our forefathers led by unseen friends as described in The Map? Were they all put together at that time for that purpose? I ask these questions as I said given my recent readings. I just wonder what gave them the fortitude, bravery, knowledge and all other necessary attributes to tell one country- uh, we don’t like how you are treating us. We deserve better. God says so. Where did that come from?

My answer— GOD

These geniuses did not have tv, radios, newspapers or telephones. Some had vast libraries. Most were dirt poor. Their entertainment, education and faith came from the same place. The Bible. The bible was their mainstay. If we bothered to look today we would still find all 3 of those things( entertainment, education and faith) in there. It seems as if we as a country are growing further and further from God. If you look at our government you see obvious evidence. However, if you talk and listen to people you might find what I did. Hope. I have found as I draw closer to God I feel more strongly “attacked”. Handsome hubby says ” the higher the level the bigger the devil”. Can you imagine how Thomas Jefferson felt after writing that letter? Talk about — the higher the level the bigger the devil!” The weight of The 13 Colonies on him and the others that signed…… The strength, fortitude, perseverance, patience, fear….. What an amazing reason to celebrate!

Leave a Reply

