Wellness Wednesday

Are you struggling to lose? I was. I’ve been writing about my progress for a couple weeks. Have I mentioned all of my medical issues that led me to Metabolism Miracle, by Diane Kress? Hashimoto’s thyroiditis, hypothyroid, insulin resistance, metabolic resistance, pre-diabetic ( I guess goes with previous 2), 75 pounds over weight. The pounds would not budge. I tried one diet after another in a 5 year period. I never attempted low carb because years prior I did Atkins and gained weight! So what did I try?

Weight Watchers for the longest
amount of time. The 4 hour body, The Lean, The 17 day diet, Perfect Weight
America, Sugar Busters, You on a Diet, The Perricone Promise, whooo……those are the ones I remember. Finally I began my own combination of diets and saw success. No guidelines. I just did what I thought worked for my body. Losing about 2-3 pounds a month was ok. Better than none and certainly better than gaining. I knew there was something better. There was! In a blurp, in a post on the Facebook page Thyroid Sexy I saw 2 words now it seems there was a golden glow around them. The words were “metabolism miracle”. Yes. I needed that. What was that, actually? Where do I find a metabolism miracle? I did what I always do, an Internet search. Oh gosh, just what I suspected. It was yet another diet. That’s no miracle!!!! I put my phone down. But the words kept going through my head…
Metabolism miracle………metabolism
Miracle. A little bit later. Metabolism miracle. So I went to my diet info place- sparkpeople.com. Doing a quick search I found some info. Nothing negative. My research continued for a few days. Finally I bought the book. Started reading it. Decided it was a MIRACLE! The physics made sense, but and I mean BUT!!!!! It was low carb. Keep reading I kept telling myself. I did. Temporary low carb, then reintroduce carbs. Ok! I can do this. Next obstacle? Convincing my husband I want to do yet another diet. I told him I needed to tell him about a diet. He looked at me. I asked him to listen. I gave a concise as possible overview. He said “go for it with all my support”. Yippee! As of today I’ve lost 22 pounds and 30 inches! I’ve actually cheated or would have had more success but in 14 weeks I’ve accomplished a previous years worth of work.

If you are struggling to lose without success I recommend METABOLISM MIRACLE BY DIANE KRESS. Do a quick search online. There’s a quiz to see if the diet will work for you. Please feel free to ask any questions. I’m lucky to be assisting about 6 people on their journey. I would love to help more!

This info below was taken off of readers digest.com. It is not what Metabolism Miracle is all about. There’s sooooo much more to it. I’m posting it because it a simplified version of low-carb life. More and more medical professionals are believing in this way. More and more data is proving low carb not low fat is life saving. Read below.

Limit Your Carbs and Lose Weight
Why low-carb (not low-fat) diets are the key to weight loss and how fat can actually help you drop pounds.

Condensed from Reader’s Digest, | February 2011

© Hemera /Thinkstock
Eric Westman, MD, who directs the Duke Lifestyle Medicine Clinic in Durham, North Carolina, and who cowrote The New Atkins for a New You, has been studying low-carb diets for 12 years and believes they (and not low-fat ones) are the key to losing weight (a position that more and more evidence supports). His five guidelines:

1. Don’t Try to Limit Fat. “Eating high-fat foods keeps you from feeling deprived,” says Dr. Westman. Bacon, cheese, heavy cream, sour cream, cream cheese, mayonnaise, butter, and oil are all healthy parts of a low-carb diet.

Limit Your Carbs and Lose Weight
Why low-carb (not low-fat) diets are the key to weight loss and how fat can actually help you drop pounds. Plus, find out the top myths about losing weight.

Condensed from Reader’s Digest, | February 2011

© Hemera /Thinkstock
Eric Westman, MD, who directs the Duke Lifestyle Medicine Clinic in Durham, North Carolina, and who cowrote The New Atkins for a New You, has been studying low-carb diets for 12 years and believes they (and not low-fat ones) are the key to losing weight (a position that more and more evidence supports). His five guidelines:

1. Don’t Try to Limit Fat. “Eating high-fat foods keeps you from feeling deprived,” says Dr. Westman. Bacon, cheese, heavy cream, sour cream, cream cheese, mayonnaise, butter, and oil are all healthy parts of a low-carb diet.

2. Say Goodbye to Pasta, Bread, and Rice. To lose weight, most people have to stay under 20 grams of “net” carbs per day (net carbs refers to the number of grams of carbs minus grams of fiber, because fiber doesn’t send blood sugar spiking). That rules out bread (two slices contain about 24 grams of net carbs), rice (over 40 grams in a cup), and pasta (about 40 grams per cup). Once you hit your goal, you can slowly add in more carbs that don’t have a big impact on blood sugar.
3. Be Picky About Vegetables. Starchy (carb-heavy) vegetables—most of the ones that grow underground, as well as corn—are off-limits. But you can have up to four cups daily of leafy greens such as lettuce, spinach, and collard greens. Limit broccoli, cauliflower, green peppers, okra, and Brussels sprouts to two cups per day.

4. Say No to Hidden Sugars. Fruit, that legendarily healthful food, is packed with sugar, aka carbohydrates. So are fruit juices. Other concentrated sources include soda, cakes, and candy. You may be able to keep diet sodas, light beer, dry wine, and sugar-free sweets on the menu and still lose weight.

5. Eat as Much as You Want. When it comes to protein and fat, “you don’t have to use portion control,” says Dr. Westman. “Your hunger will go down automatically when you start eating this way—all you have to do is stop eating when you’re full.”

Leave a Reply

