Mommy Monday- To TV or Not TV? That is the question ?

20130603-131842.jpg

Ok, if you know me at all you know I DO NOT LIKE TV. I do not judge others for watching and do watch TV with my husband. In fact, I’ve been known to enjoy a show or two.

The reasons I have for not liking TV are long and I’m not here to waste time. Although, I’ll be glad to share my reasons should someone ask. The reason I have for agreeing to TV at our “TV FREE” camp is to practice what I preach. Sometimes we have to go against something we don’t necessarily agree with ( and have a list of why nots a mile long) to take care of ourselves, to put on our ” oxygen mask” so to speak. To be clear, I didn’t go down without a fight and I did come up with, if I do say so myself, a GENIUS idea for TV viewing….

The genius idea? Earn TV time. I know, I know, I’m sure plenty have done this before me. But for me, at that moment, I was a genius and my handsome hubby doesn’t know any different! Chore sticks with earned TV time are in a jar, teenage and pre-teen children will self check one another ( that’s kinda the genius part), the empty jar to place completed chore sticks in is also in place. Now we wait for the TV to be set up. The kids earn TV time one day for the next day. They have televisions in their room so there will be no fighting. My “oxygen mask” stays on because I know they are earning their time, they will be more particular than myself when self checking one another, I’ll have a clean house and yard without anxiety and we will have more time together to play games, fish and whatever else we decide!!!!

I’ll keep y’all posted!!!!!

Leave a Reply

