Oxygen Mask

Oxygen Mask

Take care of yourself first so you can take care of everyone else.  I learned this the hard way. I learned this in such a hard way that I cannot begin to rehash those days of my life.  At that time, putting on MY mask was suffocating. It took my breathe. It took my life. It took  my reason for living away.  Why would I put myself through such pain and misery, you are probably thinking.  Well, the end was clear just not the middle.  Without going into too much detail and I do so because I have young children that might possibly read this one day, I was going through a divorce and had to make some tough decisions.

I thought of myself as a spiritual person but never Godly.  I could probably quote 5 bible scriptures. But one day while I was watching my precious children play outside I had a conversation with God. I had, at that time had a few conversations. I had heard and witnessed a few miracles even.  That is what happens when you open your mind and heart to God- he will show you his presence.  This particular day he did not show me what I wanted to see but I had faith.  My faith has led me to where I am today. It has not been an easy road but it has been a road worth traveling!  God never promised an easy road.  He did promise to deliver as long as I trusted.  I was judged harshly for my decisions of that time, lost many “friends”, and people, innocent people were hurt. Had I seen the hurt that would come I can’t tell you that I would have had the faith to trust God. But he knew my limitations and did not show me that because he loves me like a mother loves her children.  Not too long after this conversation with God, I boarded a plane.  The steward went through the oxygen mask ritual. He explained to place your mask on before anyone in your party that could not do so for their self. Growing up on planes, flying back and forth between Louisiana and Texas you would have thought the oxygen mask scenario would have hit me long before then but it hadn’t. Hitting me like a bolt of lighting, it made sense.  I had to take care of myself first before I could take care of others! wow, duh?  God’s time for everything!  Although I had faith in Gods plan I had been given the gift of seeing it in action.  A logical response to someone in distress. This is my mommy motto now and should be every mommy’s motto.  If we do not put our oxygen masks on first we will soon run out of air.  Many issues and problems arise when mommy’s run out of air!  Some days my oxygen mask is making sure all kids are in bed or their bedrooms by 8:30 because I run out of “air” at that time.  Other days my oxygen mask is lining up my snacks so I remember to eat every 3-5 hours.  A few short years ago my oxygen mask needs were much different. They included sending my baby to daycare so I could answer Discovery and Interrogatories and write my own to send back because I represented myself Prose in a very serious case. I could list other “dark” oxygen mask needs but in an effort to keep this light I’ll just leave it at that!

Everyone needs different oxygen but everyone needs it!  Please take time to think of what your needs are and act accordingly.  We all have to put on our oxygen masks sometimes. It is not a selfish act. In fact, it is the exact opposite…….

2 thoughts on “Oxygen Mask

Leave a comment